March 19, 2013 (SNOW!)

Putting the date as a post’s title brings me back to the days of paper bound journals and diaries. I thought it was fitting today, though, because not a year goes by when we try to remember when last year’s latest snow or big storm was.

I don’t remember last year’s latest snow or storm. I do remember that around this time it was hotter in Vermont than it is in the summer. Because we live in the mountains, further north than most of the states, even our summers are quite cool. It’s actually quite nice because we can enjoy all day outside, even on the hottest of summer days.

Anyways, this year is a bit different. Although it started warming up a bit last week (30’s), we have already received about 4-5 inches of snow last night, and it is still going! We should be in the foot range by tomorrow morning, although it could be more or less.

I really love that we are having a late snow year. I was reminded of how much I missed it last year as I was riding my snowboard down the slopes on St. Patrick’s day. Can’t beat that. One thing about Vermont, though, is that even a big snowstorm doesn’t keep Vermonters inside. I still made it into work by 7am, as usual, and it is just like any other days.

We will see if we continue to get more snow through late March, early April. I remember when we first moved up, we had a 2 inch coating of snow right around my birthday (April 9), so we could still have a few more weeks of winter left!

3 thoughts on “March 19, 2013 (SNOW!)

  1. I had no idea how long winter would last here, and watching the snow steadily fall outside knowing tomorrow is the official first day of spring is really something. As long as summer comes here one day, I’ll be happy.

    Enjoy the snow!

    • Glad you’re getting to enjoy a late winter snow, last year we weren’t so lucky! Late winter storms are extra fun because it isn’t quite as cold outside as a January storm. Summer will be here before you know it, we just got to get through the real mud season (last week was just a preview)!

      • You’re right – I was loving the sun shining this morning and the warm temps, even wth snow everywhere. And time is flying, so you’re right – spring and summer will be here soon.

Leave a Reply

