IPA’s and Covered Bridges

There is a unique feeling of content you can only get from simple pleasures. As I stand outside of an unfinished barn, with a plastic cup of Society and Solitude #4 (Imperial IPA), surrounded by dirt roads, I have that precise feeling.  It comes from the fact that the dirt road I took to get here had so many horizontal bumps in a row that I could feel the vibrations run through my chest. It also comes from knowing that any wrong turn would have lead to pulling over and asking a stranger for directions because a smart phone can’t save you in Greensboro, Vermont.  Mostly, it comes from knowing that my current buzz is the result of an IPA brewed right behind me.

This is reason #1 why I loved visiting Vermont and why I now love living here. In Vermont, the simplest of pleasures are usually the result of a few small adventures. It is impossible to have an uneventful weekend in Vermont.  The brewery of choice for us this weekend was Hill Farmstead Brewery which is located in the Northeast Kingdom. It is almost impossible not to get lost on your way since not only is there no phone service to call for directions, but you can only also only get there via dirt roads. Even once you pull in, you will still feel lost as the brewery is nothing but a big barn. There is no brewpub or fancy bar but if you are looking for a good, strong IPA, then you’ve come to the right place.

Pup swimming under the bridge.

On our way home, we stopped at a covered bridge that I pass daily on the way to work. I love covered bridges and what they mean to Vermont, so I can’t believe I have never stopped before. This covered bridge, in Wolcott, VT, was the last running railroad covered bridge. I immediately felt the size and strength of the bridge, which although completely made out of wood, would have withstood the power of a locomotive day in and day out. I couldn’t help but feel that simple pleasure again, as I through a stick to Pup in the pristine clear water underneath it.

One thought on “IPA’s and Covered Bridges

Leave a Reply

